Beaufort scale

The Beaufort scale is a system for measuring wind speed based on observations of its effects on the sea surface and on land objects. It was first developed by Sir Francis Beaufort, a British naval officer, in 1805, and has since been widely used by sailors, meteorologists, and others to describe wind conditions.

The Beaufort scale consists of 13 levels, numbered 0 to 12, with corresponding descriptions of wind speeds and their effects. The scale ranges from calm winds with no observable motion on water (level 0) to hurricane-force winds with widespread damage and waves over 45 feet high (level 12).

Here is a summary of the Beaufort scale:

0: Calm (less than 1 knot)

1: Light air (1-3 knots)

2: Light breeze (4-7 knots)

3: Gentle breeze (8-12 knots)

4: Moderate breeze (13-18 knots)

5: Fresh breeze (19-24 knots)

6: Strong breeze (25-31 knots)

7: Near gale (32-38 knots)

8: Gale (39-46 knots)

9: Strong gale (47-54 knots)

10: Storm (55-63 knots)

11: Violent storm (64-72 knots)

12: Hurricane-force (over 72 knots)

The Beaufort scale is used to describe wind conditions in weather reports, marine forecasts, and other contexts where wind conditions are important. It can also be used to estimate wind speeds based on visual observations of the effects of wind on objects such as trees, flags, and waves. learn more about Admission Management.