Key stage

Key Stage (KS) is a term used in the UK education system to describe the different phases of a child’s education. There are four Key Stages:

  1. Key Stage 1: This covers the first two years of primary education, from ages 5 to 7.
  2. Key Stage 2: This covers the next four years of primary education, from ages 7 to 11.
  3. Key Stage 3: This covers the first three years of secondary education, from ages 11 to 14.
  4. Key Stage 4: This covers the final two years of secondary education, from ages 14 to 16.

Each Key Stage is characterized by a set of curriculum standards that set out the knowledge and skills that students should achieve by the end of that stage. Key Stages are important milestones in a student’s education and are used to assess progress and determine eligibility for further education or training.

At the end of Key Stage 2 and Key Stage 4, students typically take standardized tests to assess their knowledge and skills. The results of these tests are used to inform decisions about student progression and to help School Analytics and teachers identify areas where additional support is needed.

Key Stages provide a framework for the UK education system, helping to ensure that students receive a comprehensive and well-rounded education that prepares them for future study and work.