In India, the Teacher Eligibility Test (TET) is the minimum requirement for consideration as a teacher in grades 1st through 8th. Teachers at government schools in India are required to pass the test. If you wish to work for the government as a teacher, you must pass the TET test. The test is not very difficult, but solid planning and practice can only help you complete it.

There are two types of TETs used to choose Assistant Teachers in Primary and Junior Secondary Schools. TET for lower elementary teachers for courses (1st to 4th). Upper Primary TET examinations are also held to choose instructors for classrooms (5th to 8th).

In all types of TET examinations, there are 150 multiple choice type questions (MCQ), each worth one mark. The test will last 90 minutes.

The Primary TET has five subjects, each with 30 MCQs, for grades I through V students.

  • Mathematics
  • Environmental Studies
  • Language I
  • Language II
  • Child Development & Pedagogy

Candidates in the Upper Primary TET have two alternatives. There are two types of optional papers: one for selecting Science instructors and the other for engaging Social Studies teachers. Mathematics, Physical Science (Physics, Chemistry), and Life Science are all subjects that science teachers should teach. Teachers who choose Social Studies must teach courses such as history, Digital Content, geography, etc. Candidates must pick one of these two papers as their topic, and all applicants must take the same mandatory topics.

The Indian government introduced the teacher eligibility test in 2011 to enhance the country’s teaching quality. Candidates who have completed their Bachelor’s degree in education must take the TET and pass with flying colours.