Various models of teaching

The various models of teaching are designed to help the students acquire knowledge and ideas about a particular subject and develop a certain way of thinking. These models were first categorized by Bruce Joyce and Marsha Weil in the year 1980. According to them, the models were classified into 4 major families:-

  1. Information processing models
  2. Personal Model
  3. Social Interaction Model
  4. Behaviour Modification model

Information processing model

This family of teaching models focuses on building the intellectual capacity amongst the learners. The main focus of this type of teaching is on data collection and analysis, developing general intellectual skills and logical thinking. Some of the models which belong to this category are:-

  1. Concept attainment model
  2. Advanced organiser model
  3. Inductive thinking model
  4. Cognitive growth model
  5. Enquiry training model
  6. Memory model
  7. Biological science model

Social Interaction Model 

This family of teaching models focuses on learning through building a relationship between individuals and society. The key objectives are to train students to work together, inculcate personal and social values, and develop and maintain human values. 

Behaviour Modification Model

This family of teaching models focuses on changing the observable behaviours of the learners with focus on mastering the techniques on stress reduction, School Management System, developing a competency to adapt to behaviour styles and developing leadership qualities.

 Personal Model

The teaching models in this family focus on the personal development of the learner. The focus in these types of models is on increasing the students’ sense of self-worth, help them refine their emotions and foster creativity.