What is the full form of UGC?

The full form of UGC in education is the University Grants Committee. UGF is a statutory body established by the Government of India under the UGC Act, 1956, to coordinate, set and maintain standards in higher education. It accredits Indian universities and distributes funds to these universities and colleges. Headquartered in New Delhi, UGC has established six regional centres at Bhopal, Pune, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Guwahati and Bangalore to provide effective coverage to all parts of the country. UGC offers PhD scholarships to those awarded Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) in the National Qualifying Examination.

The full name of UGC is the University Grants Commission, which was established in 1945 and is responsible for managing the work of the three central universities of Aligarh, Banaras and New Delhi. In 1942, its mandate was extended to cover all Indian universities. The UGC became a statutory body in November 1956 after the University Grants Commission Act, 1956 was passed by the Government of India. UGC expanded its operations by setting up six regional centres in 1994 and 1995 at Bhopal, Pune, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Guwahati and Bangalore. The headquarters of UGC is located at Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, New Delhi. It also has two offices or agencies, one at 35 Feroze Shah Road and the other at the South Campus of the University of New Delhi. learn more about Admission Management.