The word university is derived from ‘Universitas,’ meaning whole. A university is a place of higher education where students attain a degree to complete the academic program. The studies conducted are generally for graduate or postgraduate level, and universities also offer research and fellowship programs for higher degrees.

University also helps students build intercultural relations as they come from different communities, languages, cultures, and nationalities to attain education at a commonplace. In short, they are a cultural hub. 

The university’s activities are not restricted to academics or research work only. Numerous other activities are conducted like sports tournaments, inter-college debate championships, extra-curricular activities, annual fests, and alumni gatherings, making life at university worthwhile.

In India, universities are of four kinds-

  1. Private universities are mostly run by private organisations or individuals and cannot affiliate with colleges outside. 
  1. Central Universities -Established by an Act of Parliament, they are supervised by the Ministry of Education, Government of India.
  1. State Universities– They are run by the various state governments of India, specifically to meet the regional demands of the state. Most of them have affiliating power as well.
  1. Deemed Universities– They are granted autonomy under Section 3 of the UGC Act by the Department of Higher Education.

UGC, or University Grants Commission, the statutory body under the Ministry of Education, recognises the universities of India.