UPSC Syllabus

UPSC conducts examinations for various positions throughout the country. However, let’s discuss the overall syllabus for the Civil Services Examination conducted by UPSC. 

The examinations for CSE are held in three stages- 

1. Preliminary exam

2. Main or written exam

3. Interview

The preliminary examination syllabus consists of General Studies Paper 1 (comprising general knowledge, history, geography, polity, current affairs, science, environment, etc.) and General Studies Paper 2 (comprising aptitude test, quantitative ability, communication skills, logical reasoning, and much more). 

Once candidates qualify for the preliminary examination, they are selected to sit for the main examination. The main examination consists of nine papers in total, out of which only seven are chosen for the final marking. Students have to secure passing marks in the remaining two examinations to test their language capabilities. 

After a candidate passes the main examination, they are called for a final interview which is a personality test. Panels comprising members from UPSC are responsible for taking the interview. After all the processes, the final results as per the ranking are announced by totalling the preliminary examination and main examination marks.

Nearly 9 lakh to 10 lakh students apply for the examinations every year, out of which around 5 lakh students sit for the preliminary examination. The number of students selected in each round gets drastically reduced before the final results are announced. learn more about School Analytics.